November 3, 2016 — “Midnight Sun” by JOSIN

JOSIN

JOSIN

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Midnight Sun” by JOSIN (2016, from the forthcoming single “Oceans Wait”).

JOSIN is a German indie singer-songwriter who I know nothing about. I got something in the mailbag a while back about her forthcoming single “Oceans Wait”, which is backed with tonight’s song. The press release gave only one thing in the way of biographical information: both of her parents are opera singers. I don’t know her real name, and I don’t know what part of Germany she calls home.

JOSIN was recently signed to the Stockholm-based micro-label Dumont Dumont, and they’ll be releasing her debut single on November 18. She’s about to go on a German tour to support the release, and she just (November 3) played at the Iceland Airwaves festival in Reykjavik.

I’ve heard both songs from the single, and I like them both. On tonight’s song, there’s a quite obvious influence from the late 90s/early 2000s Radiohead that we used to know and love, and that’s fine with me. On “Oceans Wait”, I might point to Grouper as a reference .

“Midnight Sun” by JOSIN

It’s a lot like Kid A/Amnesiac. Specifically, it reminds me A LOT of “Pyramid Song”. There’s also a video, which is even more Radioheadesque:

With the camera right in her face, there’s even something about the way she moves that’s reminiscent of Thom Yorke. Everything is so Radioheadesque, I sort of wonder if that was her precise goal. Thankfully she doesn’t look like Thom Yorke.

There’s no pre-order information yet for “Oceans Wait”, but it’s coming soon.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.