January 22, 2018 — “Who’s Your Lover” by Nightmare Air

Nightmare Air

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Who’s Your Lover” by Nightmare Air (2018, from the forthcoming album Fade Out).
Nightmare Air is a Los Angeles indie rock trio with noise rock and shoegaze leanings. You may remember that I really liked their 2013 debut long player High in the Lasers. I rated it #26 on my year-end list that year in what was a really good year for new releases at my house. Just look at the records that placed in my top 10 that year. MBV, Basia Bulat, Typhoon, Low, Besnard Lakes, and Throwing Muses had amazing new records just to name a few. And that’s just from my top ten! The new Nightmare Air album will be out on March 3 via Nevado Records, and it’s already getting tons of advance praise.

Anyway, as I’ve said a million times before, Nightmare Air vocalist Swaan Miller reminds me A LOT of Emily Haines out of Metric. Even the music reminds me a bit of Metric, but their voices are really similar. On the previous Nightmare Air record, they had a lot more shoegaze style than they do here, but I still like this a lot. This has some mainstream potential, but they’ve still got all of their indie sensibilities.

“Who’s Your Lover” by Nightmare Air

I can’t help but think how this is destined to be in a car commercial. I’m thinking about the bridge after the first chorus and the tiny little bit of heavy breathing at 1:38 to 1:39. The whole song has a lot of polish on it, and that’s one of the things that remind me of Metric. Metric might have a lot of big city shine and in their case, they have some major label polish, but at the end of the day, they’re still just an indie band that crossed over in a big way.

You can pre-order the new album via Nevado here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.