10.15.13 — “Bellwether” by Yonder

Yonder

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Bellwether” by Yonder (2013, from the Yonder EP).

Yonder is an indie-pop/rock trio from Seattle. Two of the three guys used to be in a band called Elba, and they just formed Yonder this year. They say that their influences are Sparklehorse and Pixies. They released their debut self-titled EP on October 4, and that EP has a theme of stormy weather, oceans, and isolation.

This landed in my mail bag several weeks ago, and I thought that I had already written about it. Today, I got something else in the mailbag about the new video for the song, which you can see below.

I really don’t know anything about this special new band other than what the emails told me, and that can be boiled down to “new band formed from the ashes of an old band and a new friend”.

Here’s today’s song:

The vocals notwithstanding, I’m sort of reminded of late 1970s or early 1980s UK post-punk. Joy Division. The Cure. The vocals, however, are more reminiscent of 1990s indie rock.

I’m really short on time today, and I’ve already missed a few days in a row, so I’m going to have to post without commentary.

As a bit of extra credit, here’s the video for the song, which includes some of the stormy weather that the song alludes to.

Bellwether – By Yonder from Brian H Barnett on Vimeo.

You can buy a digital copy of the Yonder EP via the bandcamp page, at the price of “name your own price”.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.